“Plastic Waste to Energy” workshop on board the Race for Water vessel

 

On June 1, Race for Water hosted her first on-board workshop on plastic waste management. NGOs, industry representatives and local politicians had the chance to meet and learn about the Race for Water Foundation’s vision, and about potential solutions.

Race for Water Foundation president Marco Simeoni noted, “This meeting on board Race for Water was a rousing success, bringing together Sylvan Richards–Bermuda’s Minister of Environment and Planning, industry representatives, engineers, and local NGOs. These results have definitely motivated us to organize more sessions like this one!” One of the Foundation’s missions is to initiate a multi-stakeholder dialogue on plastics pollution, and then, to spark a movement—encouraging these stakeholders to work together to find solutions.

Race for Water Foundation president Marco Simeoni kicks off the morning workshop with Serge Pittet, Director General of the Foundation.

 

A SENSE OF URGENCY

The session had barely gotten going when Sylvan Richards, Bermuda’s Minister of Environment and Planning, described what’s at stake, and why we must act urgently on this issue. “Plastic is everywhere. On an island such as ours, where we’re proud of our natural beauty and history, plastic has become a real threat: to marine ecosystems, to our economy, but also by contaminating the food chain and thus, human health as well,” Richards said. He then added, “Yes, plastics pollution has been acknowledged as a global threat, but I’m convinced that the solution must be local.”

“We hope to continue our ongoing relationship with the Race for Water Foundation. On our end, we’ll keep creating effective policies for fighting the plastics that are clogging our oceans,” says Sylvan Richards.

 

NGOs, industry representatives and engineers then spoke about the many actions that are in progress. Anne Hyde, president of the NGO Keep Bermuda Beautiful, explained, “We’ve created a marine debris working group, including multiple organizations on our island. Our goal is to raise public awareness of the impact of marine debris on the oceans, to assess the quantity of marine debris that washes up on our coasts, and to develop initiatives to reduce our waste production.” Geoff Smith, an environmental engineer with the Bermuda Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, added to the discussion, giving his assessment of the major role played by local environmental policies and regulations. Nasir Wade, an engineer from the Tynes Bay Waste to Energy Facility, presented a historical overview of waste management in Bermuda, and the strategic choices made to provide solutions to this ever-growing problem.

Up to down: Anne Hyde, Geoff Smith and Nasir Wade speak during the workshop.

 

A NEED FOR SOLUTIONS

The Race for Water Foundation’s vision is to prevent plastic waste from reaching the oceans, through improved collection of plastics on land. Marco Simeoni explains, “We’re currently working on a technology called Biogreen®, with our partner ETIA. This will allow us to convert discarded plastics into an energy resource. This will have an economic, environmental, and social impact.” This news sparked many questions from the ecological, social, and environmental perspective– Foundation members and ETIA Director Olivier Lepez were thrilled to answer. Camille Rollin, a specialist with the Race for Water Foundation’s Plastic Waste-to-Energy project, added, “Right now, the technology that we’re demonstrating shows that solutions exist, and that this technology can help us start solving the problem fairly quickly. These innovations make even more sense in isolated areas such as islands. But solving the plastic waste problem also requires coordinated, simultaneous activities—educating the public about managing, recycling, and collecting waste.” From June 8-13, Race for Water will host students and other visitors, in order to educate the public at large.

Workshop à bord : politiques, industriels et ONG enfin réunis

 

Le 1er juin, le navire Race for Water a hébergé son premier workshop sur la thématique de la gestion des déchets plastiques. Entre explications de la vision de la Fondation et solutions, le navire a été lieu de rencontre entre ONG, industriels et politiques locales.

« Cette réunion à bord du Race for Water a été une magnifique réussite, réunissant Sylvan Richards, le Ministre de l’environnement aux Bermudes, des industriels, des ingénieurs et des ONG locales. Ce résultat nous encourage vivement à en organiser d’autres ! », s’exprime Marco Simeoni, Président de la Fondation Race for Water. Une des missions de la Fondation est d’ouvrir le dialogue entre différents acteurs au sujet de la pollution plastique afin d’inciter un mouvement, d’engager des actions conjointes et de trouver des solutions.

Marco Simeoni, Président de la Fondation ouvre cette matinée de workshop avec Serge Pittet, Directeur général.

 

UN TON D’URGENCE

A peine la réunion entamée que Sylvan Richards, Ministre de l’environnement des Bermudes, pose les jalons de l’urgence d’agir.  « Le plastique est partout. Sur une île comme la nôtre, fière de sa beauté naturelle et de son histoire, le plastique est devenu une menace réelle : pour les écosystèmes marins, en termes d’économie mais aussi en contaminant la chaîne alimentaire et donc la santé humaine », déclare le Ministre. Et d’ajouter : « Oui la pollution plastique a été reconnue comme une menace mondiale, mais je suis convaincu que la solution doit être locale. »

« Nous espérons pouvoir continuer une relation durable avec la Fondation Race for Water. Et de notre côté, nous continuons d’élaborer des politiques efficaces pour lutter contre les plastiques qui remplissent nos océans », s’exprime Sylvan Richards.

 

ONG, industriels et ingénieurs témoignent alors des multiples actions en cours. Anne Hyde, Présidente de l’ONG Keep Bermuda Beautiful, explique : « Nous avons créé un groupe de travail sur les débris maritimes avec diverses organisations de l’île. Notre but est de sensibiliser l’opinion publique à l’impact des débris marins sur les océans, d’évaluer la quantité de débris marins échoués sur le littoral et de développer des initiatives pour réduire nos émissions de déchets ». S’ajoute à la discussion la vision de Geoff Smith, ingénieur en environnement au Ministère de l’Environnement et des Ressources Naturelles des Bermudes, qui témoigne du rôle majeur des politiques environnementales locales et des réglementations. Nasir Wade, ingénieur de projet de Tynes Bay Waste to Energy Facility, il présente un aperçu historique de la gestion des déchets aux Bermudes et les choix stratégiques faits pour fournir des solutions à ce problème croissant.

De haut en bas : Anne Hyde, Geoff Smith et Nasir Wade s’expriment lors du workshop

 

UN BESOIN DE SOLUTIONS

La vision de la Fondation est d’empêcher les déchets plastiques d’atteindre les océans en incitant leur ramassage. « Nous travaillons actuellement sur une technologie appelée Biogreen® avec notre partenaire ETIA. Elle nous permettra de transformer les déchets plastiques en ressources énergétiques ce qui aura un impact économique, environnemental et social », explique Marco Simeoni. S’en suivent multiples interrogations écologiques, sociales et environnementales auxquelles les membres de la Fondation ainsi qu’Olivier Lepez, Directeur d’ETIA, se font une joie de répondre. « Aujourd’hui la technologie que nous présentons montre que des solutions existent et qu’elles permettent de commencer relativement rapidement à traiter le problème et fait encore plus de sens dans des territoires isolés tels que les îles », ajoute Camille Rollin, spécialiste du projet Plastic Wast-To-Energy à la Fondation Race for Water. « Mais ce sont aussi des actions conjointes et simultanées d’éducation à la gestion des déchets, au recyclage et au ramassage que nous aiderons à résoudre cette problématique des déchets plastiques ». Du 8 au 13 juin, le navire accueillera des scolaires et autres visiteurs afin de sensibiliser tous les publics.