A new, highly committed ambassador for the Foundation: Swiss singer Marc Aymon

A Swiss singer from the canton of Valais, Marc Aymon loves nothing better than a challenge, the thrill of danger and of fresh encounters. Having recorded in Nashville (USA) and collaborated with the Breton lyric writer Alexandre Varlet, as part of his latest opus, “ô Bel été” (Oh beautiful summer), Marc is tackling a series of eternal songs relating to cultural heritage with texts written between the end of the 19th century and the 1920s. 

Keen on discovery, he is a committed man. Following an encounter with Marco Simeoni, which he found inspirational, Marc Aymon has joined the big Race for Water family to spread the Foundation’s message. He was alongside us during the stopover on Easter Island.

Marc Aymon: “My first encounter with the Race for Water Foundation was via Marco, who told me about the boat, which I’d seen in photos. However, given that I have a little Rapa Nui quality to my character, I have to touch to see! That’s why I accepted this invitation to share in the stopover on Easter Island with you. When I saw the catamaran arrive, it was incredible: there in front of me was a boat, a technological challenge: to circumnavigate the globe in five years using the wind, the sun and water! I’m still amazed today when I climb aboard.
What I love about Race for Water is this notion of a challenge and accomplishment. When I get going on an artistic project, I’m not certain I’ll realise it. I think Marco shares this same fibre: he goes for it, embarks upon it and things get done!

When I met Marco, he immediately invited me to meet the Rapa Nui people, to see the Foundation’s work in the flesh on the ground with regards to plastic and the machine which will convert it into energy. He also suggested I meet the musicians.

I notably got in contact with an internationally renowned pianist, Mahani Teave.Next, I met up with Enricé Iqua, her husband, he too an incredible musician.

We got together and we rehearsed with a view to putting on a musical night before the boat set sail again. I also met percussionists, Rapa Nui people who play with horses’ jaws! I feel as if I’m on a cultural mission where all the genres blend into one.

When I sing with a local musician, it’s a kind of signature, an exchange, a handshake. Each of us takes a step towards the other. Something happens which is an excellent starting point for the beginning of an adventure.
That’s exactly what you do, Race for Water, at every stopover. You come along to provide a solution for the problem of plastic waste, you need the people you meet to trust in you: you need to create bonds before you can come up with a practical solution. It may take time but in the end, it works. What is happening here on Easter Island is the perfect example of this.”

Un nouvel ambassadeur de la Fondation très engagé : le chanteur suisse Marc Aymon

Chanteur suisse originaire du canton du Valais, Marc Aymon n’aime rien moins que les défis, les confrontations, la mise en danger et les rencontres. Après avoir enregistré à Nasvhille (USA) ou collaboré avec le parolier breton Alexandre Varlet, Marc s’attaque à des chansons patrimoniales, éternelles avec des textes écrits entre la fin du XIXe siècle et les années 1920, dans son dernier opus : « ô Bel été »

L’homme, féru de découvertes, est également engagé. Suite à une rencontre avec Marco Simeoni qui l’inspire, Marc Aymon a rejoint la grande famille Race for Water afin de porter le message de la Fondation. Il était présent à nos côtés, le temps de l’escale sur l’île de Pâques.

Marc Aymon : « Ma première rencontre avec la Fondation Race for Water s’est faite à travers Marco qui m’a parlé du bateau que j’ai vu en photo. Mais, comme j’ai un petit côté Rapa Nui, il faut que je touche pour voir ! C’est pourquoi j’ai accepté cette invitation de partager l’escale à l’île de Pâques à vos côtés. Quand j’ai vu le catamaran arrivé, ce fut incroyable : face à moi, un bateau, un défi technologique : réaliser le tour du monde sur cinq ans grâce au vent, au soleil et à l’eau ! Encore aujourd’hui, je suis surpris dès que je monte à bord.
Ce que j’aime chez Race for Water, c’est cette notion de défi et d’accomplissement. Quand je me lance dans un projet artistique, je ne suis pas certain de le réaliser. Je pense que Marco, lui, a cette fibre : il y va, entreprend et les choses se réalisent !

Quand j’ai rencontré Marco, il m’a tout de suite invité à rencontrer les Rapa Nui, voir sur le terrain concrètement le travail de la Fondation par rapport au plastique et à la machine qui va le transformer en énergie. Il m’a également proposé de rencontrer les musiciens.

J’ai pris contact notamment à une pianiste internationalement reconnue, Mahani Teave. Puis, avec son époux Enricé Iqua, son mari, un musicien incroyable également. Nous nous sommes vus et nous répétons en perspective d’une soirée musicale avant le départ du bateau. J’ai rencontré des percussionnistes, des Rapa Nui qui jouent avec des mâchoires de chevaux ! Je me sens dans une mission culturelle où les genres se mélangent.

Quand je chante avec un musicien local, c’est une sorte de signature, d’échange, de poignée de mains. On fait l’un et l’autre un pas vers l’autre. Il se passe quelque chose qui est un très bon point de départ pour le début d’une aventure.
C’est exactement ce que vous faites, Race for Water, à chaque escale. Vous venez pour apporter une solution au problème des déchets plastiques, vous avez besoin de la confiance des personnes rencontrées : il faut créer des liens avant de pouvoir apporter une solution concrète. Ca peut prendre du temps mais au final, ça fonctionne. Ce qui se passe ici à l’île de Pâques en est le meilleur exemple. »