Race for Water sets sail from Guadeloupe bound for Panama City!

This Sunday 28 January brings to an end a four-month stopover in Guadeloupe punctuated by a series of exchanges and refit operations. Next destination, Panama City! This latest stage of the odyssey will enable the crew to trial the vessel’s new features before heading into the Pacific Ocean.

Originally setting sail from Lorient in France in April 2017, the Race for Water vessel is powered solely by a mixture of renewable energies. Her mission? To criss-cross the seas of the globe in order to raise awareness among the local populations about plastic pollution and carry out scientific campaigns, with the focus on proposing sustainable technological solutions geared at preventing plastic waste from ever reaching the oceans again.

On the programme for 2018, the Pacific Ocean! Lima, Valparaiso and Easter Island, Polynesia and Fiji will be this year’s key stopovers. For the Race For Water Odyssey teams, the reasoning behind this choice of venue is the massive scale of the plastic pollution in these coastal cities and remote islands. “At each stopover, we’ll be hosting a number of local protagonists aboard the boat, including political decision-makers, manufacturers and NGO members in order to open up discussions about this terrible problem. Together we’ll consider lasting innovative technological solutions with environmental, social and economic benefits”, explains Marco Simeoni, President of the Race For Water Foundation.

With regards to the sailing element of the programme, everything has been geared towards increasing our self-sufficiency in terms of energy. “To navigate the Pacific Ocean, we must make the best possible use of all the energy resources we have at our disposal, like sun, wind and water”, says Marco Simeoni.

The low-down on the upcoming stopovers

  • Panama: from 19 to 27 February, the vessel will moor in Panama City where various events will be organised, including those with Suez Environnement
  • Lima (Peru): from 15 March to 14 May
  • Valparaiso (Chile): from 31 May to 29 July
Map of the Race For Water Odyssey 2017-2021

 

Focus on renewable energy via kite

A 100-tons kite surfer

The trip from Guadeloupe to Panama is set to involve wind conditions that favour the use of the traction kite, with little call for electric propulsion. So how does this work? Measuring 40m2, this sail is capable of towing the entire 100-tonne vessel, thus enabling it to use the solar energy to recharge the batteries. Coupled up to the Race for Water vessel by cable, the wing is flown at an altitude of over 100 metres high, where it performs a series of figure of eight movements to increase its ability to ‘catch’ the wind, which is key to enabling it to propel large vessels and be managed in an automated manner. Once the kite is aloft, it is adjusted to the changes in breeze using an automatic pilot system developed by the company Skysails Yacht. “During Race For Water’s first year of sailing we recovered a massive amount of data about how the kite operates. This information then enabled us to refine the autopilot system and thus improve the kite’s performance”, says Sven Kilingenberg, co-founder of Skysails Yacht. This first sail of the year will enable the Skysails Yacht teams to trial this new software and sail all night long for the first time.

 

The Atlantic in figures

Children visiting the Race for Water vessel

1,400 children aboard the vessel were taught about issues with plastic pollution of oceans
Over 100 local protagonists (government, manufacturers and NGOs) invited aboard
1,000 people invited to general public conferences organised in universities
15 researchers of 6 different nationalities focusing on 3 international projects
443-million individuals potentially impacted by the media coverage.

Race for Water quitte la Guadeloupe,  cap sur Panama City !

Ce dimanche 28 janvier clôture quatre mois d’escale guadeloupéenne rythmée de nombreux moments d’échanges et de travaux. Prochaine destination, Panama City ! Une première navigation permettant de tester les nouveautés du bord avant de rejoindre l’océan Pacifique.

Parti en avril 2017 de Lorient en France, le navire Race for Water est uniquement propulsé par un mix d’énergies renouvelables. Sa mission ? Sillonner les mers du globe afin de sensibiliser les populations locales à la pollution plastique, mener des campagnes scientifiques mais surtout proposer des solutions technologiques durables afin que les déchets plastiques n’atteignent plus les océans.

Au programme de 2018, l’océan Pacifique ! Lima, Valparaiso et l’île de Pâques, la Polynésie et les Fidji seront les escales phares de cette année. Au cœur de ce choix, la conscience des équipes de l’Odyssée Race For Water quant à l’immense problématique de la pollution plastique dans ces villes côtières et îles isolées. « A chaque escale, nous recevons à bord du navire nombres d’acteurs locaux comme des décideurs politiques, des industriels et des membres d’ONG afin d’ouvrir la discussion autour de cette terrible problématique. Ensemble nous réfléchissons à des solutions technologiques innovantes ayant des bénéfices environnementaux, sociaux et économiques durables », explique Marco Simeoni, Président de la Fondation Race for Water.
Quant à la navigation, tout est pensé en termes d’augmentation de l’autonomie énergétique. « Pour naviguer sur l’océan Pacifique et le traverser, toutes les ressources énergétiques dont nous disposons comme le soleil, le vent et l’eau doivent être utilisées de la manière la plus efficiente possible », dit Marco Simeoni.

Mémo des escales à venir 

  • Panama : du 19 au 27 février le navire stationnera à Panama City où différents événements seront organisés entre autres avec Suez Environnement
  • Lima (Pérou) : du 15 mars au 14 mai
  • Valparaiso (Chili) : du 31 mai au 29 juillet

Zoom sur une énergie renouvelable, le kite
Sous kite au large de la Guadeloupe

Une navigation entre la Guadeloupe et Panama se fera avec des conditions de vent s’annonçant favorables à l’utilisation de l’aile de kite et sollicitant peu la propulsion électrique. Mais en fait, comment ça marche ? D’une taille de 40m2, cette voile est capable de totalement tracter le navire de 100 tonnes, lui permettant alors d’utiliser l’énergie solaire afin de recharger les batteries. Reliée au Race for Water par un câble, l’aile est envoyée à plus de 100 mètres d’altitude où elle sillonne le ciel en faisant des formes de huit afin d’augmenter sa prise au vent. Un mouvement clé dans sa capacité à propulser de grands navires et géré de manière automatisée. Une fois le kite dans les airs, il s’ajuste aux changements de vent grâce à un système de pilotage automatique développé par l’entreprise Skysails Yacht. « Durant la première année de navigation du Race For Water, nous avons récupéré énormément de données de fonctionnement du kite. Ces dernières nous ont ensuite permis d’affiner le système de pilotage automatique et d’ainsi augmenter les performances du kite. », dit Sven Kilingenberg, co-fondateur de Skysails Yacht. Cette première navigation de l’année permettra aux équipes de Skysails Yacht de tester ce nouveau logiciel ainsi que de naviguer sous kite pour la première fois de nuit.

L’Atlantique en chiffres

Visite d’une classe à bord

1400 enfants à bord du navire, sensibilisés à la pollution plastique des océans

Plus de 100 acteurs locaux (gouvernement, industriels et ONG) invités à bord

1000 personnes invitées à des conférences grand public organisées entre autres dans des universités

15 chercheurs de 6 nationalités différentes pour 3 projets internationaux

443 millions d’individus potentiellement impactés par la couverture médiatique