Race for Water safely dockside in the Dominican Republic

Late afternoon, on Wednesday 23 August, the Race for Water vessel docked in the military port of Sans-Souci in Santo Domingo, completing the third leg of its round the world mission at the service of the oceans. Powered solely by renewable energies, the wind, the sun and the ocean, the 100-tonne catamaran took some 16 days to make the Dominican Republic from Cuba in what its engineer, Martin Gavériaux, describes as difficult conditions. On its arrival, the crew of Race for Water led by Pascal Morizot, were greeted by a delegation from the Swiss Embassy in Santo Domingo, and by the local soldiers, under the supervision of their commander, Sr. Miguel Peña Acosta. Gathered together around Marco Simeoni, President of the Race for Water Foundation, the crew promptly linked onto the Think Innovation conference in readiness for another diverse and action-packed stopover, this time in the Dominican Republic.

Martin, how were the sailing conditions during this leg between Cuba and the Dominican Republic?
Martin Gavériaux: “We had a fairly difficult leg, alternating between days that weren’t very favourable for sailing such a boat, namely punching into strong wind and current, and calmer days bordering on being too calm, with downwind conditions albeit fairly light. Peaks of speed weren’t part of the equation needless to say! In addition to these tough conditions, the starboard motor failed and tropical storm Harvey rolled through. All in all, it took us 16 days to cover around 1,000 miles. It’s worth noting that weighing in at 100 tonnes and powered by a solar-hydrogen-kite concoction, Race for Water is not a quick boat by design. On her best days, with the exception of a single day powered by kite (5-knot average), we only managed a 3-knot average speed and in the worst conditions, it was down to 1.5 knots. In the open ocean, such a low speed isn’t really a problem, but when you’re rounding a headland making 1.5 knots, the landscape doesn’t seem to change, so you’re aware that you’re not very quick. That’s how it is though! Life is governed by the rhythm of the meteorological conditions.”

How did you manage to monitor Harvey’s progress and what was it like when the system rolled through?
Martin Gavériaux: “We have wind and wave files aboard, which we download a minimum of once a day when conditions are good and 2 to 3 times a day when we want to keep an eye on a weather phenomenon. Each day, we also receive a weather report from an American site managed by the meteorologists from the NOAA, which provide a daily review of how tropical storms are evolving. This data, combined with the boat’s various parameters, enable us to adapt our course accordingly. Given that we know we’re not quick across the water, we have to anticipate the weather phenomena as early as possible, especially in the Caribbean, in the midst of the cyclone season. Each day, we study the possible evolution of the phenomena over a large geographical zone. In this way, we saw Harvey forming and opted to take shelter. We were nicely protected at anchor and didn’t experience any extreme conditions; just a strong gale. However, we’d never have risked rounding Cap Rojo with a single motor. Race for Water isn’t sufficiently seaworthy to deal with winds in excess of 30 knots and heavy seas, even with two fully functioning motors.”

What was the atmosphere like aboard during the worst of the storm?
Martin Gavériaux: “It was very studious, since we made the most of the stopover to carry out tests on the starboard motor. The whole crew came to assist in addition to their everyday tasks. There was no downtime. The decision to go hove to was something that was agreed on amicably by the whole crew and we all stuck by that. The storm didn’t really upset the harmony among the crew and the teamwork has made the bond between us even stronger.

You’re dockside at last, what kind of welcome did you receive?
Martin Gavériaux: “We’re all very happy to have made it safely into port, especially since we managed to fire up the starboard motor again a few miles from port. Though it kept going till we made dock the problem is yet to be fully resolved. Once dockside, we had a fantastic welcome from the soldiers in the port of Sans-Souci, under the supervision of commander Sr. Miguel Peña Acosta and from a delegation from the Swiss Embassy in the Dominican Republic. We were also delighted to hook back up with Marco Simeoni, President of the Foundation, as well as Franck David and Camille Rollin, members of the team. It was a warm evening and we were all able to have dinner together without rolling about. Quite a luxury!”

Finally, what’s next for the crew?
Martin Gavériaux: “The members of the foundation have meticulously prepared several major events aboard so everyone will quickly get down to business. We’re linking together a press conference, visits from students and institutions, as well as conferences like our usual on-board ‘Plastic waste to energy’ workshop and our participation in local conferences like Think Innovation. As for me, I’m going to look further into this engine problem, which I hope to resolve quickly.”

Race for Water à bon port en République Dominicaine 

Ce mercredi 23 août, en fin d’après-midi, le navire Race for Water s’est amarré au quai du port militaire Sans-Souci à Saint Domingue clôturant ainsi la troisième étape de navigation de son tour du monde au service des océans. A la force du vent, du soleil et de l’océan, le catamaran de 100 tonnes fonctionnant uniquement aux énergies renouvelables aura mis 16 jours pour relier Cuba à la République Dominicaine dans des conditions de navigation compliquées comme le précise ci-dessous Martin Gavériaux (ingénieur de bord). A son arrivée, l’équipage du Race for Water mené par Pascal Morizot, a été accueilli par une délégation de l’Ambassade Suisse à Saint Domingue et par les militaires du port dirigé par le commandant Sr. Miguel Peña Acosta. Réuni autour de Marco Simeoni, président de la fondation Race for Water, l’équipage a, dès le lendemain, enchaîné avec la conférence Think Innovation et s’apprête à vivre, à nouveau, une escale dominicaine riche en rencontres et en temps-forts.


Martin, quelles ont été les conditions de navigation sur cette étape entre Cuba et la République Dominicaine ?
Martin Gavériaux : « Nous avons eu une étape assez difficile avec une alternance de journées peu propices à la navigation sur un tel bateau – avec un fort vent de face et un fort courant – et des journées plus calmes voire trop calmes avec du vent portant mais assez faible. Nous n’avons donc pas fait de pointe de vitesse ! A ces conditions difficiles s’ajoutent une panne de moteur électrique tribord accompagnée du passage de la tempête tropicale Harvey. En tout, nous aurons mis 16 jours pour parcourir environ 1000 milles nautiques. Il faut rappeler qu’avec ses 100 tonnes et sa propulsion mix solaire-hydrogène-kite, Race for Water n’est, à l’origine, pas un navire rapide. Dans les meilleurs jours et exception faite de la seule journée sous kite (5 nœuds de moyenne), nous avons dû atteindre 3 nœuds de vitesse moyenne et dans les plus mauvais jours, je dirais 1,5 nœuds. En pleine mer, une si petite vitesse n’est pas si perturbante mais quand tu passes une pointe rocheuse à 1,5 nœuds sans voir le paysage défiler, là tu te rends compte que ce n’est pas très rapide. Enfin c’est ainsi ! On vit au rythme des conditions météorologiques. »

Comment avez-vous surveillé l’avancée de Harvey et vécu son passage ?
Martin Gavériaux : « A bord, nous disposons de fichiers de vent et de vague que nous téléchargeons minimum une fois par jour quand les conditions sont bonnes et 2 à 3 fois par jour quand nous souhaitons surveiller un phénomène météorologique. Puis chaque jour, nous recevons un bulletin météorologique d’un site américain géré par des météorologues de la NOAA qui livrent quotidiennement un compte-rendu de l’évolution des tempêtes tropicales. Ces données combinées aux paramètres du navire, nous permettent d’adapter notre route. Comme nous nous savons peu rapides sur l’eau, nous devons anticiper au plus tôt les phénomènes météos surtout dans la zone caraïbe en pleine saison cyclonique. Chaque jour, on étudie sur une grande zone géographique l’évolution des phénomènes possibles. C’est ainsi que nous avons vu la formation de Harvey et que nous avons décidé de nous abriter. Au mouillage, nous étions bien protégés et n’avons ressenti aucune condition extrême. Juste un fort coup de vent. Cependant, nous n’aurions jamais pris le risque de passer le cap Rojo avec un seul moteur. Race for Water n’est pas assez marin pour affronter des vents de plus de 30 nœuds et une mer forte même avec deux moteurs en état de fonctionner. »

Quelle était l’ambiance à bord lors du plus fort de la tempête ?
Martin Gavériaux : « C’était très studieux puisque nous avons profité de cet arrêt pour effectuer des tests sur le moteur tribord. Tout l’équipage est venu aider en plus de ses tâches quotidiennes. Il n’y a pas eu de temps morts. La décision de s’arrêter a été acceptée par tous sans difficulté et nous sommes tous restés fidèles à nous-mêmes. La tempête n’a vraiment pas perturbé l’harmonie de l’équipage et le travail d’équipe nous a soudé un peu plus. »

Enfin à quai, quel accueil avez-vous reçu ?
Martin Gavériaux : « Nous sommes tous très contents d’être arrivés à bon port. Surtout que sur les derniers milles nautiques, sans pour autant résoudre la panne, nous avons pu redémarrer le moteur tribord et ce dernier a tenu jusqu’à l’arrivée. A quai, nous avons reçu un superbe accueil de la part des militaires du port Sans-Souci dirigé par le commandant Sr. Miguel Peña Acosta et par une délégation de l’ambassade Suisse en République Dominicaine. Nous avons également retrouvé avec plaisir Marco Simeoni, président de la Fondation, ainsi que Franck David et Camille Rollin, membres de l’équipe. La soirée fût chaleureuse et nous avons pu diner tous ensemble sans roulis. Un luxe ! »

Quelle est la suite du programme pour l’équipage ?
Martin Gavériaux : « Les membres de la fondation, nous ont préparé plusieurs gros évènements à bord si bien que chacun va vite vaquer à ses occupations. Nous enchaînons sur une conférence de presse, des visites scolaires et institutionnelles, ainsi que des conférences telle notre habituel workshop ‘Plastic waste to energy’ à bord et la participation à des conférences dominicaines telle Think Innovation. Quant à moi, je vais me pencher sur cette panne moteur que j’espère résoudre rapidement. »