When you’re told there’s an emergency…

 

Second in command in rotation with Anne-Laure, I’m in Paris at the moment. I should be above the Atlantic, heading for Guadeloupe. The flight is postponed of course to give Maria a chance to roll through leaving a trail of destructive madness in her wake. It leaves me the time to think about our planet and our mission.

Three destructive hurricanes: Harvey, Irma and now Maria, and the season’s not over yet… This year has been particularly rife with hurricane activity on the Atlantic seaboard and a storm is also taking shape on the Pacific coast towards Mexico. The hurricanes in question have again managed to set the records tumbling in terms of wind strength, stirred-up seas and rain with the obvious consequences and the damage inflicted.

And this sad crop of records is the same right around the planet, with dangerous weather phenomena increasing in frequency and in strength globally and in worrying fashion. How is it possible that some still doubt that climate change exists?

Our planet is so beautiful, it seems so obvious to me that we need to protect it, that we need to take action… Obviously, you have to question what one little person, a little human being, can do against 3 hurricanes, against the climatic imbalance.

It’s easy to let yourself get overwhelmed, let it get on top of you. That’s not how I see it though. I want to fight, I want to participate, I want to do my bit. I don’t know what state Guadeloupe will be in on our arrival, but I’m sure we’ll be able to take action. Assisting the locals all we can if need be and presenting our mission of course.

We’re spreading our message of hope, sharing the energy transition solutions, which we’re trialling day after day on the boat. Indeed, these renewable energies are enabling us to make headway calmly but surely, which enables us to move the Race For Water platform around for hosting guests and exchanging with them.

We’re showing that it’s possible, that we have to believe in it, that solutions exist, and of course, as if we needed a reminder, that there’s an emergency… I hope that Guadeloupe will be in a state to listen to our message, and if this isn’t case, I hope that those who are not affected by these climatic disasters will.

Annabelle

Quand on vous dit qu’il y a urgence…

 

Second capitaine en rotation avec Anne-Laure, je suis en ce moment à  Paris. Je devrais être au-dessus de l’Atlantique, vers la Guadeloupe. Le vol est bien sûr reporté le temps de laisser passer Maria et sa folie destructrice. Ce qui me laisse un temps de réflexion sur notre planète et notre mission.

Trois ouragans destructeurs : Harvey, Irma et désormais Maria, et la saison n’est pas finie… Cette année est particulièrement chargée en activité cyclonique sur la façade atlantique et une tempête se profile également côté pacifique vers le Mexique. Les cyclones en question ont encore réussi à  faire tomber des records en termes de forces de vents, de mer soulevée, de précipitations et corollaire évident, de dégâts infligés.

Et cette triste moisson de records est la même sur toute la planète, les phénomènes météorologiques dangereux augmentent en fréquence et en force de manière globale et inquiétante. Certains doutent encore sur le changement climatique, comment est-ce possible ?

Notre planète est si belle, il me semble tellement évident qu’il faut la protéger, qu’il faut agir… Evidemment que peut faire ma petite personne, un petit être humain, face à 3 cyclones, face au dérèglement climatique ?

Il est facile de se laisser submerger, dépasser. Mais ce n’est pas mon cas. Je veux me battre, je veux participer, je veux faire ma part. Je ne sais pas encore dans quel état la Guadeloupe sera à notre arrivée, mais je suis sûre que nous allons agir. Aider les locaux de tout notre possible si besoin et bien sûr présenter notre mission.

Diffuser notre message d’espoir, partager les solutions de transition énergétique que nous testons jours après jours sur le bateau, ces énergies renouvelables qui nous permettent d’avancer tranquillement mais sûrement, qui nous permettent de déplacer la formidable plate-forme d’accueil et d’échange qu’est le navire Race For Water.

Montrer que c’est possible, qu’il faut y croire, que des solutions existent, et bien sûr, mais est-ce nécessaire de le rappeler, qu’il y a urgence… J’espère que la Guadeloupe sera en état d’écouter notre message, et si ce n’est pas le cas, j’espère que ceux qui ne sont pas touchés par ces désastres climatiques le feront.

Annabelle