All hands on deck to preserve our oceans! 

 

Race for Water’s Bermuda stopover continues, and the Race for Water Foundation has spearheaded a variety of actions aimed at preserving our oceans. Between meetings, beach clean-ups and sailing Race for Water, the crew is even more dedicated to their mission–and the land-based teams are more motivated than ever!

June 8 was the first World Oceans Day—a celebration held alongside the United Nations Ocean Conference, June 5-9 in New York. To honor this incredible initiative, the entire Race for Water Foundation—in Switzerland, in France and in Bermuda—came together to celebrate and take action.

 

The entire Race for Water Foundation came together to celebrate World Oceans Day 

 

Big thanks to everyone who joined in, to accompany Race for Water on this mission to preserve our oceans. We were joined on board the yacht by:

  • A representative from Bermuda’s Ministry of Environment: Drew Petit, Acting Director of Parks
  • The Consul of France, Nicole Hariza
  • Two staff members from the US Consulate: Linda L. Rosalik and Camille Haley
  • Local NGOs: Anne, from Keep Bermuda Beautiful,  Ken Vickers, from Ocean Support Foundation,  Alicia Wanklyn, from Greenrock and  Alan Burland, from the  Sloop Foundation – all really engaged in ocean conservancy.

Race for Water: a place to have conversations, share ideas, and raise awareness 

 

THE TEAM IN ACTION 

In addition to being a platform for dialogue, Race for Water’s odyssey of hope is also about taking action. On June 6, the teams organized a beach clean-up at Church Bay, one of Bermuda’s most beautiful beaches. Camille Rollin, a specialist with the Race for Water Foundation’s Plastic Waste-to-Energy project, commented, “We collected an unbelievable amount of plastics in less than an hour. The worst thing was the density of plastic microparticles on this very small beach—even though locals clean the beach on a regular basis. That’s terrifying, and it’s proof of the sheer volume of plastics that are in the ocean today.”

A beach clean-up for World Environment Day

Mobilisation générale pour les océans !

 

Le séjour aux Bermudes se continuant, multiples actions sont engagées par la Fondation afin de préserver les océans ! Entre rencontres, Beach Clean-up et sorties en mer : un équipage à fond et des équipes à terre plus motivées que jamais !

Hier, avait lieu la première journée mondiale pour la préservation des océans : The World Oceans Day. Cette célébration faisant écho à la Conférence Mondiale sur les Océans organisée par les Nations Unies à New-York du 5 – 9 juin. Afin de faire honneur à cette magnifique initiative, toute la Fondation – en Suisse, en France et aux Bermudes – s’est mobilisée !

Toute la Fondation réunie en l’honneur du World Oceans Day

Un grand merci à tous d’avoir été présents et de vous être mobilisés afin d’accompagner Race for Water dans sa mission de préservation des océans ! A bord du navire :

  • Un représentant du Ministère de l’environnement : Drew Petit, Acting director of Parks
  • La consule de France Nicole Hariza
  • Deux membres du consulat US : Linda L. Rosalik and Camille Haley
  • Des ONGs locales: Anne Hyde de Keep Bermuda Beautiful, Ken Vickers de Ocean Support Foundation, Alicia Wanklynde de Greenrock et Alan Burland de Sloop Foundation tous fortement engagés pour la sensibilisation et l’action à la préservation des océans.

Le navire : un lieu d’échange, de partage et de sensibilisation

D E   L ‘ A C T I O N 

En plus d’être une plateforme d’accueil afin de créer un dialogue, cette Odyssée de l’Espoir passe aussi à l’action ! Le 6 juin dernier, les équipes ont organisé un Beach Clean-up (nettoyage d’une plage) à Church Bay, une des plus belles plages de l’île. « Nous avons ramassé une quantité incroyable de plastiques en moins d’une heure. La grande majorité provenait clairement du large, des organismes marins étaient même présents sur certains des morceaux. Le pire étant la densité de microparticules qui se trouve mélangées au magnifique sable rose si typique des Bermudes. Sachant que les plages sont régulièrement nettoyées par les locaux c’est un témoignage terrifiant de la quantité de plastique qui se trouve aujourd’hui dans l’océan. », raconte Camille Rollin, spécialiste du projet Plastic Waste-To-Energy à la Fondation.

Un beach cleaning à l’occasion du World Environment Day