“”The privilege of getting to sail on this solar-powered boat again”

Raphaël Domjan, a Swiss eco-adventurer, has been passionate about adventure and exploration since his childhood. Today, Raphaël is an eco-adventurer and speaker and through his SolarPlanet foundation, he’s committed to the protection of our planet, our biodiversity, our atmosphere and our environment in Switzerland and around the world.

In 2004, Raphaël came up with the idea to complete the first circumnavigation of the globe in a solar-powered boat. In February 2008, the funding for the boat was in place thanks to the support of one man, Immo Stroeher, a solar energy enthusiast. Between September 2010 and May 2012, PlanetSolar, now rechristened Race for Water, and her 5 crew, completed the first circumnavigation of the globe in history using solar energy. He travelled 60,000km across all the oceans, powered solely by the energy from our star, the sun.

Raphaël Domjan, who was aboard Race for Water during the trip from Concepción to Robinson Crusoe Island, shares his thoughts with us:

“Race for Water has been at anchor in the bay of Robinson Crusoe Island in the Juan Fernández archipelago for some 3 days now. Protected by the winds and swell of the South Pacific, which really shook the solar-powered boat about during the passage from Concepción, I have discovered an incredibly inspirational island. In fact, I’d never dared hope that one day I might be lucky enough to make landfall here! As such, reaching this legendary island, secretly lost in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with the boat, the ex-PlanetSolar, which between 2010 and 2012 enabled me to complete the first round the world using solar energy, is a privilege I still dare not believe! Thank you to Marco Simeoni and the crew of Race for Water for allowing me to experience these unique moments alongside them and be part of their fabulous adventure. Their values and their commitment to the preservation of the oceans are precious and command admiration. Knowing that this boat, which I’m so fond of, is now being used to serve their cause makes me very happy given how much my commitment to the daily promotion of renewable energies is in keeping with their struggle against plastic waste, both of them with a view to preserving our environment.

Aboard the boat, I find the same atmosphere that I experienced during my 2-year circumnavigation of the globe, as well as the fabulous welcome from the people encountered when the boat makes a stopover. With her strange form, this solar-powered boat is reminiscent of a spaceship and never ceases to amaze wherever she drops anchor. And Robinson Crusoe Island is a very beautiful planet on which to make landfall!!

This islet surrounded by cliffs has great appeal to summit lovers like me. Each of these peaks, stretching heavenwards and often concealed in the clouds of the austral winter, are an invitation to climb. Below, part of the island has eroded away due to the goats imported centuries earlier, which have decimated part of the vegetation… But around the bay of San Juan Bautista, the only village on the island, the vegetation is lush. The island’s endemic species appear to come straight from another geological era, from ancestral times… And it wouldn’t really come as a great surprise to see a dinosaur rock up amongst the gigantic leaves of the amazing plants that populate the island!

The island is not very touristy and it is as if it has been spared the march of time. Unfortunately, electricity here is produced exclusively by a generator… In this way, the inhabitants are entirely dependent on fuel for their energy, which has to be imported from the mainland. And yet, the wind and the sun would be free energy, available in abundance, and it would enable them to be self-sufficient in terms of energy. Often, the problem lies in the initial investment required to fund the cost of solar installations, which would be the key to their self-sufficiency and sustainability in terms of energy. I dream that these types of islands become small-scale examples of what we must put into practice on a global scale to achieve a sustainable way of life…

In a few days’ time, I’ll leave Robinson Crusoe Island and Race for Water on a small plane. I’ll leave this boat and her crew to carry on with their mission. However, I’ll always remember the aroma of the salt sea spray of the South Pacific that I tasted aboard this silent boat that brings hope and solutions wherever she sails.”

« Le privilège de voguer à nouveau sur ce bateau solaire »

Raphaël Domjan, écoaventurier suisse, est depuis son enfance passionné d’aventure et d’exploration. Aujourd’hui, Raphaël est un écoaventurier et conférencier qui s’engage, au travers de sa fondation SolarPlanet, pour la protection de notre planète, de notre biodiversité, de notre atmosphère et de notre environnement en Suisse et dans le monde.

En 2004, Raphaël imagine réaliser le premier tour du monde en bateau solaire.  En février 2008, le financement du bateau est assuré, grâce au soutien d’un homme Immo Stroeher, passionné d’énergie solaire. Entre septembre 2010 et mai 2012, PlanetSolar, rebaptisé aujourd’hui Race for Water, et ses 5 membres d’équipage a réalisé le premier tour du monde à l’énergie solaire de l’histoire. Il a parcouru 60’000 km à travers tous les océans et ceci uniquement propulsé grâce à l’énergie de notre étoile, le soleil.

Raphaël Domjan qui était à bord de Race for Water pour le ralliement entre Concepcion et ile de Robinson nous livre ses impressions :

« Cela fait 3 jours désormais que Race for Water est au mouillage dans la baie de l’Ile de Robinson Crusoe, dans l’archipel « Juan Fernandez. Protégés des vents et de la houle du Pacifique sud qui ont tant secoué le bateau solaire durant la traversée depuis Concepción, je découvre cette île qui m’a fait tant rêver. Je n’osais d’ailleurs espérer un jour avoir la chance d’y accoster ! Aborder ainsi cet îlot mythique secrètement perdu en plein océan Pacifique avec le bateau, ex-PlanetSolar, qui m’a permis entre 2010 et 2012 d’accomplir le premier tour du monde à l’énergie solaire est un privilège auquel je n’ose encore croire ! Merci à Marco Simeoni et à l’équipage de Race for Water de me permettre de vivre à leurs côtés ces instants uniques et une part de leur fabuleuse aventure. Leurs valeurs et leurs engagements pour la préservation des océans sont précieux et forcent l’admiration. Savoir que ce bateau que j’affectionne tant sert désormais leur cause me réjouit beaucoup, tant l’engagement que je mène au quotidien pour la promotion des énergies renouvelables est complémentaire à leur lutte contre les déchets plastiques, dans une vision commune de préservation de notre environnement.

Je retrouve à bord l’ambiance que j’ai vécue durant mes 2 ans de tours du monde, ainsi que l’accueil fabuleux des gens lorsque le bateau fait escale. Aux formes étranges, ce bateau solaire a des airs de vaisseau spatial et ne manque pas de susciter l’étonnement partout où il jette l’ancre. Et l’Ile de Robinson est une bien belle planète sur laquelle atterrir !

Cet îlot entouré de falaise réjouit l’amoureux des sommets que je suis. Chacun de ces pics élevés vers le ciel, souvent dissimulés dans les nuages de l’hiver austral, invite à l’ascension. En dessous, une partie de l’île est érodée, à cause des chèvres importées des siècles auparavant et qui décimèrent une partie de la végétation… Mais autour de la baie de San Juan Bautista, seul village de l’île, la végétation est luxuriante. Les espèces endémiques de l’île semblent tout droit nous venir d’une autre ère géologique et des temps ancestraux… Et cela ne m’étonnerait pas vraiment de voir un dinosaure débarquer d’entre les feuilles gigantesques des plantes étonnantes qui peuplent l’île !

L’île est très peu touristique, comme épargnée par la marche du temps. Malheureusement, l’électricité est ici exclusivement produite par une génératrice… Les habitants de l’île sont ainsi entièrement dépendants, pour leur énergie, du fuel qu’ils doivent importer du continent. Le vent et le soleil seraient pourtant une énergie gratuite, disponible en quantité, et permettrait leur autonomie énergétique. Souvent, le problème est d’investir initialement les coûts des installations solaires qui seraient la clef de l’autonomie et de la durabilité énergétique. Je rêve que ce genre d’îles devienne des exemples à petite échelle de ce que nous devrions, à l’échelle de la planète, mettre en place pour atteindre un mode de vie durable…

Dans quelques jours, je quitterai l’Ile de Robinson Crusoe et Race for Water à bord d’un petit avion. Je laisserai ce bateau et son équipage poursuivre leur mission. Mais je garderai toujours en souvenir l’odeur des embruns du Pacifique sud goûté à bord de ce bateau silencieux, porteur d’espoir et de solutions partout où il vogue. »