The end of the Atlantic Ocean… Anne, Annabelle and Martin tell all!

 

That’s it, we’re approaching the end of our Atlantic journey and with it a fine chapter draws to a close. Feeling somewhat nostalgic, I think back to the intense encounters we’ve been lucky enough to make at every stopover, all the great memories of the moments we’ve shared along the way and our efforts to raise awareness about the problems of plastic pollution around this ocean. To sum things up, we’ve had a fantastic year in the Atlantic.

Ambiance at sea between Guadeloupe and the Panama Canal

 

Whilst we’ve spent the past 10 days sailing with just the vast ocean on the horizon, by later today we’re going to be able to make out land once more. Thus far, we’ve been pretty much on our own on the water, barely crossing tacks with any other vessels. Since yesterday though, the close proximity of the Panama Canal has really been making its presence felt. The shipping has intensified and right now, on the AIS (a radar that enables us to see which ships are navigating this zone), seven boats have appeared. To the naked eye, they’re so far away that we still can’t make them out yet, but we’re no longer alone and we need to remain vigilant when crossing tacks with them.

As far as our sailing is concerned, conditions have been very favourable! We’ve had stable, downwind conditions pushing us along from Guadeloupe and the sea hasn’t been too heavy. The perfect weather for Martin and Annabelle to learn how to pilot the kite in fact. The good news is that, together with Basile, we’ll soon be able to take care of the manœuvring completely on our own, from take-off through to landing. Indeed, that too is what the Race for Water Odyssey is all about, constantly learning, understanding new things and helping to make advances in clean, sustainable technologies.

 

A N N A B E L L E

Yesterday evening was our last Atlantic sunset!

Panama and the Pacific lay ahead. 85 days to cross the Atlantic, whilst another will circumnavigate the globe in 42 days… But it’s a rather different mission after all! Our crossing is far from direct and as far as our delivery trips are concerned, our motto is that “slow and steady wins the race.” In addition, like the tortoise, we’re not only carrying with us our home, but also our exhibition space and visitor centre!

A few days behind us now is Guadeloupe. The evening of our departure emotions were running high: “we’re going to miss you!”, “we’d grown accustomed to you”, “thanks for everything, you’ve started something here!”, “I’m going right now, otherwise the tears will flow…” Our presence has made an impression and the enthusiasm we’ve drummed up is touching.

And, when it comes to knowledge and ideas, the sense of enrichment goes both ways. It’s been fascinating for us to discover an association like “Mon école ma baleine” (My school my whale) and their marine protected areas. Companies like Ecodec and the desire to recover waste on a local level without resorting to the mainland and maritime shipping or local waste collection centres. It’s also interesting to see the desire of certain politicians to apply the principles of a circular economy to the autonomous port of Pointe à Pitre. We dream that all these initiatives will see the light of day and trigger an ecological transition.

As far as the crew and the boat are concerned, they’re making for the setting sun like Lucky Luke, bound for adventures new. Fortunately, the team onshore will be able to follow up on the initiatives started in Guadeloupe, as it is doing for the previous stages.

At sea, the sailors are constantly making improvements to the vessel: review of the kite sails for Annabelle.

 

M A R T I N

A journey like the one we’re about to complete is something you’d sign up for every day! 10 days with the wind right on our tail, good wind, sun and perfect conditions for the kite, which has really helped tow the boat along. The upshot of this is batteries that are nice and full at the end of the day so they fire up without issue at night.

After a gale and short 3 to 4-metre waves for around twelve hours, conditions are gradually calming down as we approach the coast, and it’ll soon be time to book our slot for going down the canal. We mustn’t waste any time getting in the waiting line if we want to gain access to the Pacific any time soon. We’ll have a short 10-day stopover in Panama City then we’ll head due south to Lima in March.

 

There are always some improvements to be made aboard and engineer, Martin, is busying himself with the electronics!

La fin de l’océan Atlantique… Anne, Annabelle et Martin vous racontent !

 

A N N E

Ça y’est, nous nous approchons de la fin de notre périple sur l’Atlantique. Un beau chapitre qui se clos. Nostalgique, je repense aux rencontres intenses que nous avons eu la chance de faire à chaque escale, tous ces bons souvenirs de moments de partage et notre effort de sensibilisation à la problématique de la pollution plastique autour de cet océan. En bref, c’était une magnifique année sur l’Atlantique.

 Ambiance maritime entre la Guadeloupe et le canal de Panama

 

Alors que nous naviguons depuis 10 jours avec pour seul horizon l’immensité de l’océan, d’ici la fin de journée nous allons apercevoir à nouveau la terre. Jusqu’alors, nous étions passablement seul sur l’eau, nous n’avons pas croisés beaucoup de navires. Pourtant depuis hier, nous ressentons très fortement le fait que nous nous rapprochons du canal de Panama. Le trafic maritime s’intensifie et en ce moment, surl’AIS (un radar qui nous permet de voir quels navires naviguent autour de nous), il y a sept navires qui sont apparus. A l’œil, ils sont tellement loin qu’il n’est pas encore possible de les apercevoir, mais nous ne sommes plus seuls et il faut rester vigilant en cas de croisement.

Concernant notre navigation, les conditions nous ont été très favorables ! Le vent, d’une allure stable et portante, nous a poussé depuis la Guadeloupe et la mer n’était pas trop formée. Une météo idéale pour que Martin et Annabelle puissent nous apprendre à piloter le kite. Bonne nouvelle, avec Basile nous pourrons bientôt en gérer les manœuvres en autonomie totale, du décollage à l’atterrissage. Parce que c’est ça aussi la Race for Water Odyssée, toujours en apprendre plus, comprendre de nouvelles choses et contribuer à l’avancée des technologies propres et durables.

 

A N N A B E L L E

Hier soir a eu lieu notre dernier coucher de soleil sur l’Atlantique !

Devant nous Panama et le Pacifique. 85 jours pour traverser l’Atlantique quand un autre boucle un tour du monde en 42 jours… Bon mais la mission n’est pas la même ! Notre traversée est loin d’être direct et notre devise est, pour ce qui concerne les convoyages « rien ne sert de courir, mieux vaut partir à point. » En outre , à l’instar de la tortue, nous transportons non seulement notre maison, mais en plus notre lieu d’exposition et de visite avec nous !

Et quelques jours derrière nous, La Guadeloupe. La soirée de départ est émouvante : « vous allez nous manquer ! », « on s’était habitué à vous », « merci pour tout, vous avez démarré quelque chose ici ! », « je pars tout de suite, sinon je vais verser une larme… » Notre présence à marquer les esprits, l’enthousiasme que nous avons suscité est émouvant.

Et puis lorsqu’il s’agit des connaissances et des idées, l’enrichissement est réciproque. Il a été fascinant pour nous de découvrir une association telle que « Mon école ma baleine » et leurs aires marines protégées. Des entreprises telles qu’Ecodec et la volonté de valoriser les déchets de manière locales sans avoir recours au continent et au transport maritime ou aux déchetteries locales. Et la volonté de certains politiques de vouloir appliquer par exemple des principes d’économie circulaire au port autonome de Pointe à Pitre. Toutes ces initiatives dont on rêve qu’elles verront le jour et initieront une transition écologique.

En ce qui les concerne, l’équipage et le bateau avancent vers le couchant tel Lucky Luke, en route vers de nouvelles aventures. Heureusement l’équipe terre saura suivre le mouvement initié en Guadeloupe, tout comme elle le fait pour les étapes précédentes.

En mer, les marins n’arrête jamais d’améliorer le navire : révision des voiles de kite pour Annabelle

 

M A R T I N

Un trajet comme celui qu’on est en train d’achever, on en commanderait chaque jour ! 10 jours plein vent arrière, du bon vent, du soleil, des conditions idéales pour le kite qui a beaucoup contribué à la traction du bateau. Bilan: des batteries bien remplies en fin de journée pour démarrer sereinement les nuits.

Après un coup de vent et des vagues courtes de 3 à 4 mètres pendant une douzaine d’heures, les conditions se calment peu à peu à l’approche de la côte, et il est bientôt temps d’aller prendre rendez-vous pour passer le canal. Il ne faut pas tarder à se placer dans la file d’attente si on souhaite accéder au Pacifique rapidement. Petit stop à Panama City pendant une dizaine de jours puis nous mettrons cap au sud vers Lima au mois de mars.


A bord, il y a toujours des travaux d’amélioration à faire, Martin ingénieur s’attèle à l’électronique !