Hurricane Irma: the decisions taken for safety reasons

On 7 September, hurricane Irma struck the Dominican Republic. A week prior to this date, whilst we were moored in the military port of Santo Domingo, busying ourselves with boat maintenance and checks for wear and tear, that day’s weather report alerted us to the fact that a potentially dangerous weather system was forming. Given the forecasts, we abandoned our plan to sail to Samana, to the north of the island. Indeed, the grib files clearly showed a vortex forming, which was set to grow over the coming days. The ensuing period only served to confirm the approach of hurricane Irma. On the weather charts we were watching the fierce winds sweeping across the heavenly islands as they turned into a hellish situation, severely impacting on the local populations. The first consequence of this in the port of Santo Domingo was that the entire military fleet moved to a more sheltered zone.

Grib file indicating the strength and direction of the winds from hurricane Irma

 

We ended up on our own on what had turned into a long, deserted dock. We studied and checked the various options possible, but nothing seemed to us to be suitable for such a special boat. Indeed, the floats on the Race For Water are ‘wave-piercing’ and sit very low to the water, the deck barely 70cm above the surface. This unique feature meant that we couldn’t keep our fenders in position in the event of heavy seas. As such, we couldn’t tie the boat alongside with such little protection. One of the possibilities was to leave port and sail due east in order to distance ourselves from Irma, but that didn’t seem necessary in our view.

SIT AND WAIT

As a result, we took the option to remain in the military port. We positioned the vessel at anchor, stern facing towards the dock, which was a good distance away, tripling up on the mooring warps for added safety. The harbour authorities were quite concerned by the fact that we were staying in the military port. However, the forecasts were not a worry for the south coast of the Dominican Republic where we were located. Irma’s trajectory was due to take her to the north of the island. 20 knots of southerly wind were announced, whereas we had 35 knots of established wind in reality. When the wind picks up like that, well beyond the forecasts, it’s a little worrying. However, the weather isn’t an exact science. It does make you wonder how far it’s going to increase to. At that point, we decided to add our towing warp to the mix so as to bolster up our mooring system. “Too strong never failed” as any sailor will tell you. Shortly after that, the wind eased and dropped back down to the forecast 20-knot southerly wind.

The stormy skies of the hurricane have rolled through now. Aboard the boat we were all too aware of how lucky we were to be on the right side of the island. The port of “Sans Soucis” or ‘No Worries” is aptly named….

Jean- Marc

Le cyclone Irma : les décisions prises pour la sécurité

Le 7 septembre le cyclone Irma touchait la République dominicaine. Une semaine avant cette date, alors que nous étions amarrés dans le port militaire de Saint Domingue, occupés par l’entretien du bateau et les vérifications d’usage, le point météo du jour nous fit prendre conscience de la formation d’un système météo potentiellement dangereux. Au vu des prévisions, nous abandonnèrent notre projet de navigation vers Samana, au nord de l’île. En effet, les fichiers montraient clairement un vortex en formation et dont la taille allait en croissant les jours à venir. Les jours suivants ne firent que confirmer l’approche du cyclone Irma. Nous observions sur les cartes météo les vents en fureur s’abattre sur les îles paradisiaques transformées en enfer pour les populations durement touchées.  La première conséquence dans le port de Saint Domingue fut le mouvement de toute la flotte militaire vers une zone plus abritée.

Fichier météo indiquant la force et la direction des vents du cyclone Irma

Nous nous retrouvons seuls sur ce long quai devenu désert. Nous avons étudié et vérifié les différentes options possibles mais toutes nous paraissaient inadaptées à notre bateau si particulier. En effet, les flotteurs du Race For Water sont du type « perce vagues » et très bas sur l’eau, le pont ne dépasse guère 70 cm au-dessus de la surface. Cette particularité ne nous permet pas de maintenir nos pare battages en position en cas de mer formée. Nous interdisant de positionner le bateau le long d’un quai mal protégé. Une des possibilités était de quitter le port et naviguer plein sud afin de nous éloigner d’Irma, mais cela ne nous a pas semblé nécessaire. 

RESTER ET ATTENDRE

Nous avons donc pris l’option de rester dans le port militaire. Nous avons positionné le navire au mouillage arrière à quai et à bonne distance de celui-ci, ainsi que Les amarres triplées. Les autorités du port étaient assez inquiètes par le fait que nous restions au port militaire. Les prévisions n étaient pourtant pas inquiétantes pour la côte sud de la République dominicaine où nous nous trouvions. La route d’Irma passerait par le nord de l’île. Il était annoncé 20 nœuds de secteur sud, nous aurons en réalité 35 nœuds établis. Lorsque le vent monte ainsi, bien au-delà des prévisions c’est un peu inquiétant. La météo n’est pas une science exacte. Une question se pose : jusqu’où cela va monter ? Nous décidons alors d’ajouter notre aussière de remorquage afin de renforcer l’amarrage. « Trop fort n’a jamais manqué » dira le marin. Peu de temps après Le vent faiblira et reviendra aux 20 nœuds de secteur sud prévu.

La traîne du cyclone est passée. A bord nous étions tous conscients d’avoir eu la chance d’être du bon côté de l’île. Le port « Sans Soucis » porte bien son nom….

 

Jean- Marc