Studying the ocean plastic pollution: all about the life of the Race for Water scientists!

Over the past two weeks, six European scientists from the Ephemare project have been aboard the Race for Water vessel to study the plastic pollution of the oceans. What are the protocols, the aims and the techniques used?  Explanations from Bénédicte Morin, teacher and research at the University of Bordeaux.

 

Six European scientists from the Ephemare study project sampling beaches to learn about plastic pollution.

Race for Water (R4W): What have you come to study in the waters around Guadeloupe and how is this approach breaking new ground?

Bénédicte Morin (BM): We’ve come to study the quantity, the type and the toxicity of the microplastics present in various environments within the ecosystem. We’ve tested four of these environments: sand, sediment, water and biota (the latter corresponds with individuals living in the marine environment). During the 2015 odyssey, we studied pollution via microplastics from the beach environment the world over. This time, we’re interested in having a global vision of the plastic contamination through the study of various areas spanning the same sampling site.

 

On board, the first analyses !

R4W: How do you obtain samples of microplastics in these different areas?

BM: On the beaches, we use a quadrant technique, which means delimiting a zone on the beach so as to quantify and then qualify the microplastics present on site. With regards to the surface of the water, we tow ‘nets’ behind the vessel. We collect microplastics or plankton, very small organisms at the root of the food chain, according to the size of the mesh for each net. In order to test the sediment (gravel, sand or mud found at the bottom of the water), we dive down and pick up a sample of the soil with the help of a Van Veen grab. To round off our work, we bought some fish from the local fishermen and then dissected them so we could analyse the presence of microplastics in the digestive tract. We were able to take samples from organisms such as sea urchins and oysters near the beaches sampled.

 

Studiing sand and sediment to understand all cycle of plastic pollution.

R4W: What results have you amassed from this sampling?

BM: For now, we’ve only completed the ‘harvesting’ stage. All our samples will be sent off to our universities in Italy and France. The characterisation of microplastics is a procedure that is carried out in a laboratory environment and requires a certain amount of time.

However, we’ve chosen to study two sites in Guadeloupe: one on the eastern seaboard of the island of Basse Terre and the other on south-eastern seaboard of the island of Marie-Galante, so those that have debris from the Atlantic washing up on their beaches. We’ve observed a greater abundance of macro and microplastic on the eastern seaboard of the island of Marie-Galante probably linked to the waste carried along by the currents that make up the North Atlantic gyre, which notably include a vast amount of fibre from fishing activities. The Basse Terre site, despite being located on the Atlantic coast, is probably protected from the waste by the neighbouring island of Grande Terre.

 

Propulsed by renewables energies, the Race for Water vessel is used by scientists to study plastic pollution in Guadeloupe.

R4W: In conclusion, what do you think of this oceanic campaign with the Race for Water Foundation?

BM: Quite frankly, I’m delighted and I’m sure my colleagues are too. The vessel is incredibly spacious and we can carry out some high-quality work on her, added to which the teams aboard the boat have given us a very warm welcome. It’s just extraordinary to be able to carry out oceanic studies without any environmental impact and noise-free thanks to this vessel being propelled by clean energies.

Étudier la pollution plastique des océans : détails de la vie des scientifiques du Race for Water !

Ces deux dernières semaines, six scientifiques européens du projet Ephemare sont montés à bord du navire Race for Water afin d’étudier la pollution plastique des océans. Quels protocoles, dans quels buts et avec quelles techniques ? Explications de Bénédicte Morin, enseignant-chercheur de l’Université de Bordeaux.

 

Les scientifiques du projet d’étude Ephemare analysent les microplastiques des plages Guadeloupéennes.

Race for Water (R4W) : Qu’êtes-vous venus étudier dans les eaux Guadeloupéennes et en quoi cette démarche est-elle novatrice ?

Bénédicte Morin (BM) : Nous sommes venus étudier la quantité, le type et la toxicité de microplastiques présents dans différents milieux de l’écosystème. Ces milieux, appelés compartiments ou réservoirs, nous en avons testé quatre : le sable, le sédiment, l’eau et le biote (ndlr : ce dernier correspondant aux individus vivant dans le milieu marin). Lors de l’odyssée de 2015, nous avions étudié la pollution par les microplastiques provenant de plage du monde entier. Cette fois ci, nous nous sommes intéressés à avoir une vision d’ensemble de la contamination plastique à travers l’étude des différents compartiments, sur un même site de prélèvement.

 

A bord du navire les premières manipulations.

R4W : Comment procédez-vous pour prélever des microplastiques dans ces différents compartiments ?

BM : Sur les plages, nous réalisons des quadras, autrement dit nous délimitons une zone sur la plage, afin de quantifier puis de qualifier les microplastiques présents. Concernant la surface de l’eau, nous trainons des « filets » derrière le navire. En fonction de la taille des mailles du filet, nous récoltons des microplastiques ou du plancton, de très petits organismes à la base de la chaine alimentaire. Afin de tester les sédiments (ndlr : graviers, sable ou vase se trouvant au fond de l’eau), nous plongeons et récupérons un échantillon de ce sol à l’aide d’une benne Van Veen. Pour terminer, nous sommes allés acheter des poissons auprès de pêcheurs locaux puis les avons disséqués afin d’analyser la présence de microplastique dans le tube digestif. Nous avons également pu prélèver des organismes à proximité des plages échantillonnées tels que des oursins et des huitres.

 

Le sédiment marin aussi est étudié afin de comprendre l’impact de la pollution plastique.

R4W : Quelles sont les bilans de ces échantillonnages ?

BM : Pour l’instant, nous n’avons fait que l’étape de « récolte ». Tous nos prélèvements vont être envoyés dans nos universités, en Italie et en France. La caractérisation des microplastiques est une procédure qui se fait en laboratoire et qui prend un certain temps.

Mais nous avons choisi d’étudier deux sites en Guadeloupe : l’un sur l’île de Basse Terre coté est et l’autre sur l’île de Marie-Galante coté sud-est donc sujet à recevoir les microplastiques venant de l’Atlantique. Nous avons observé une quantité plus abondante de macro et microplastiques sur l’île coté est de Marie-Galante probablement liée aux déchets amenés par les courants de la gyre nord-atlantique avec notamment une grande quantité de fibres provenant des activités de pêche. Le site de Basse Terre, malgré sa localisation côté atlantique, est probablement plus protégé des déchets par l’île avoisinante de Grande Terre.

 

En mer, le navire traine un filet Manta afin de récolter les microplastiques en surface.

R4W : En conclusion, qu’avez-vous pensez de cette campagne en mer avec la Fondation Race for Water ?

BM : Très franchement je suis enchantée et suis certaine que mes collègues aussi. Le navire est incroyablement spacieux, nous pouvions y faire un travail de qualité et les équipes du bord sont très accueillantes. Et, bien entendu, c’est extraordinaire de pouvoir mener des études en mer en ayant aucun impact environnemental et ne faisant aucun bruit grâce à ce navire propulsé par des énergies propres.