Eric Loizeau logbook #2: First days on board.

Having previously reported on his arrival aboard Race for Water, our special envoy Eric Loizeau makes the most of the voyage to the Dominican Republic to review his first few days in Cuba and beyond.

Monday 7 August at 16:30pm local time.

We finally left Havana over 12 hours ahead of schedule having sorted out all the victualling for the boat with Bunny and Bérangère at the local market and the only two supermarkets in the city. One final clearance and a farewell to the pilots and we entered the departure channel just as a huge tropical storm hit with a series of intense flashes of lightning, some impressive thunderclaps and torrential rain. It was pretty bizarre to leave the city in such conditions after three days of glorious sunshine and scorching heat.

Together with the crew, I experienced three intense days of scientific research aboard the boat in the company of the mixed team of researchers made up of five Cubans and three Norwegians. We certainly didn’t stand idle… A 6 a.m. wake-up call, a quickly downed breakfast, the reception of local scientists (the Norwegians sleep aboard), the wait for clearance and the pilots (compulsory before each movement of the boat, hello red tape… Pascal loves it…!!), installation of the working surface on the aft platform and a trip out to sea for a mission that will go on until the evening with a minimalist-style break for lunch.

The Manta Net, which we trail behind the boat to collect sea water samples, probes for sediments, which are dropped to a depth of 20 metres at various pre-planned points and our captain accurately tracks them down again using the GPS. Everyone bustles about, the crew included, amidst the plethora of jars, test tubes and various bottles, with the 30 square metres of the aft deck (alias the Marina) transformed into a research lab, which is directly exposed to the ocean. In the afternoon, the trade wind kicks in, picking up short seas which hit us side on, upsetting certain stomachs that are unfamiliar with such treatment.

A few hours later, a fabulous sunset illuminates the florid pastel architecture of this amazing city, which we pass alongside in the silence of the electric motors as we finally take the time to enjoy an apéritif on the upper deck. The only fly in the ointment is the switch from the pure turquoise water offshore to a sort of murky jumble of petrol, fuel and urban pollution, which is shamelessly drained from the sewers, staining the white livery of our ecological vessel yellow.

We have to acknowledge that the protection of the environment is unfortunately not one of Havana’s strong points. Urban Cubans seemingly have other concerns to deal with, such as the simple fact of getting a good meal inside them each day…

Tuesday 8 August.

Here we are with a crew reduced down to just eight, which will make life a lot easier for Bunny and Bérangère, who are responsible for feeding the whole of our little group, which has thus far included a good fifteen or so people.

Once our fine second in command, Anne-Laure, has taken us to one side for a safety briefing, Bunny organises the shifts, cooking, cleaning and tidying, so life aboard takes on a degree of order…

After several discussions and analysis of the grib files, we opt for the northerly route, to windward of the islands and some 150 miles shorter than the southern route, which was initially planned due to the presence of some developing cyclones. For now though, our change of tack doesn’t seem to be the right option. The trade wind is stronger than forecast on the grib files, 18 knots rather than 10 and that changes everything because punching into short seas with an unfavourable current, we’re only able to make a little over two knots of boat speed over the ground.

The coast of Cuba stretches out endlessly to starboard. It’s a kind of eulogy to slowness, which is enabling us to read and write, and also to value our time away from telephones and screens, no longer fuelled by the internet. Such is the case now where, leaning back into a soft pouffee, fanned by the cool ventilation of the trade wind, I pen you these words whilst listening to the dulcet tones of Joan Baez.

Eric Loizeau carnet de bord #2: Les premiers jours à bord

Après avoir précédemment relaté son arrivée à bord de Race for Water, notre envoyé spécial Eric Loizeau profite de la navigation vers la République Dominicaine pour revenir sur ses premiers jours à Cuba.

Lundi 7 aout 16h30 locales.

Nous avons quitté finalement La Havane avec plus de 12 heures d’avance sur le planning après avoir effectué avec Bunny et Bérangère tout l’avitaillement du bord dans le marché local et les deux uniques supermarchés de la ville. Une dernière clearance, un adieu aux pilotes et nous embouquons le chenal de sortie juste au moment où éclate un énorme orage tropical accompagné d’intenses éclairs, de majestueux coups de tonnerre et d’une pluie diluvienne. C’est assez étrange de quitter cette ville dans ces conditions après trois jours de grand soleil et de chaleur caniculaire.

En compagnie de l’équipage, j’ai vécu à bord trois intenses journées de recherche scientifique en compagnie de l’équipe mixte de chercheurs composée de cinq cubains et trois norvégiens. Et je peux vous dire que l’on n’a pas chômé …. Lever à 6 heures, petit déjeuner rapidement envoyé, accueil des scientifiques locaux (les norvégiens dorment à bord), attente de la clearance et des Pilotes (obligatoires avant chaque mouvement du bateau, bonjour la paperasserie…. Pascal adore… !!), installation du plan de travail sur la plate-forme arrière, départ en mer pour une mission qui va durer jusqu’au soir avec une pause minimaliste pour déjeuner.

Filet Manta que l’on traine derrière le bateau pour récupérer des échantillons d’eau de mer, sonde à sédiments que l’on envoie par 20 mètres de fond en différents points prévus d’avance et que notre capitaine retrouve avec précision grâce au GPS. Tout le monde s’affaire, équipage compris, au milieu de la multitude de bocaux, éprouvettes et bouteilles divers, les 30 mètres carrés de la plage arrière (alias la Marina) transformés en laboratoire de recherche directement ouvert sur l‘océan. Dans l’après-midi l’alizé se renforce levant une mer courte qui nous prenant par le travers met à mal certains estomacs peu habitués à ce traitement.

Quelques heures plus tard, un coucher de soleil magnifique illumine l’architecture colorée pastel de cette ville étonnante que nous longeons dans le silence des moteurs électriques en prenant enfin le temps d’un apéritif sur le pont supérieur. Seule ombre au tableau, l’eau pure turquoise du large s’est changée en une sorte de magmas boueux mélange de pétrole, carburant et pollution urbaine que vident sans vergogne les égouts et qui maculent de traces jaunâtres la robe blanche de notre navire écologique.

Nous devons en convenir, la protection de l’environnement n’est malheureusement pas le point fort de La Havane. Les cubains urbains ont, semble-t-il d’autres soucis à gérer comme le simple fait de se nourrir chaque jour….      

Mardi 8 aout.

Nous voici en équipage réduit, plus que huit à bord, cela va grandement faciliter la vie de Bunny et Bérangère chargés jusqu’ici de nourrir l’ensemble de notre petite troupe d’une bonne quinzaine de personnes.

Après qu’Anne-Laure notre jolie capitaine en second nous ait pris à part pour un briefing sécurité, Bunny organise les quarts de service, cuisine, nettoyage, rangement, la vie à bord s’organise…

Après plusieurs discussions et analyse des fichiers météo, nous avons décidé de passer par la route nord, au vent des îles, plus courte de 150 milles par rapport à la route sud, envisagée au préalable à cause de la présence de cyclones en formation. Mais pour l’instant, cela ne semble pas nous donner raison. L’alizé est plus fort que prévu par les grids, 18 nœuds plutôt que 10 et cela change tout parce que face à la mer courte et avec un courant défavorable nous n’avançons qu’à un peu plus de deux nœuds sur le fond.

La côte cubaine défile avec une lenteur infinie sur notre tribord. C’est une sorte d’éloge de la lenteur qui nous permet lecture et écriture, de prendre notre temps aussi à l’abri des téléphones et des écrans qu’internet n’alimente plus. Comme maintenant où adossé à un pouf moelleux, bien aéré par la fraiche ventilation de l’alizé, j’écris tranquillement en écoutant la douce voix de Joan Baez.