Breguet Embarks on a New Odyssey with Race for Water

Breguet and the Race for Water Foundation announce their partnership at Baselworld 2018 with a special exhibition opening on Saturday March 24th on the Swatch Group Plaza in the presence of Marc A. Hayek, President of Montres Breguet, and Marco Simeoni, President of the Race for Water Foundation. Breguet is joining forces with Race for Water to support the Odyssey 2017-2021 and its crucial mission for the oceans.

 

The Race for Water Foundation, committed to the conservation of the oceans against plastic pollution, is contributing to the advancement of scientific knowledge, raising awareness among the general public and decision-makers, and taking concrete action in the implementation of local solutions with a lasting economic, environmental and social impact. Advance scientific research on marine ecological balance has been carried out by the Race for Water Foundation, which now teams up with Breguet to raise awareness of ocean preservation and plastic pollution. A pioneering vessel embarks on a journey with the goal of promoting innovative solutions capable of transforming plastic waste into energy resources, and accelerating clean energy transition.  The Race for Water Odyssey will make around 35 stopovers all around the world and provide an opportunity for scientists and decision-makers to gather and share their learnings on the need to preserve water, humanity’s most precious resource. Breguet is committed to supporting this new Odyssey through its completion in 2021.

“We are proud and pleased to be able to support Race for Water, a Swiss project making a significant international contribution into the marine research and demonstrating that concrete solutions exists for the preservation of the ocean worldwide,” – says Marc A. Hayek.  “In the early 19th century, timekeeping played a pivotal role in maritime navigation. We are continuing that tradition by supporting an Odyssey of vital importance for our common future.”

“We are proud to have Breguet as our main partner in this unique expedition. This new Odyssey aims at giving hope to the world showing that solutions exist against plastic pollution”, explains Marco Simeoni, President of the Race for Water Foundation. “Education is key and that’s why we’re focusing on the young generation. However, we’re also showing the decision-makers that we meet at every stopover, that innovation and new business models can offer lasting economic, ecological and social benefits. By giving value to plastic waste, we will get into a virtuous cycle where we will achieve a positive result. In addition, we’re travelling aboard a boat that operates using renewable energy and is propelled by a solar-hydrogen-kite mix, proving that a 100-tonne vessel can circumnavigate the globe without depending on fossil fuels. Energy transition is already a reality!”

A special exhibition launching at Baselworld 2018 will travel to various destinations to further contribute in raising awareness for this mission.

A Breguet Marine “Race for Water” Special Edition watch to travel on the wrists of the explorers

Breguet has made an indelible mark in history by equipping sea going vessels with accurate chronometers that were set in the heart of the vessels and served to calculate longitude at sea.

Breguet demonstrates its exceptional mastery of time measurement through its contemporary Marine collection. In celebration of the partnership with Race for Water, Breguet creates a special edition of its Marine 5517 timepiece. It is set in a light titanium case with a custom blue dial that features the Race for Water vessel in a clous de Paris motif.  The Breguet Marine Special Edition will embark on an oceanic tour traveling in its natural environment on the wrists of Race for Water explorers and accompanying them in their mission.

Sea exploration has been inspiring Breguet since the watchmaker was appointed the official chronometer-maker to the French Royal Navy in 1815. The king bestowed upon Breguet’s founder the most prestigious title in recognition of his mastery, and that led to extraordinary inventions at the service of the fascinating world of marine navigation. The contemporary Marine collection resonates with history while being designed for the modern world.  With its creations built to last for generations, it only makes sense for Breguet to commit to a long-term initiative at the forefront of modern oceanic scientific research.

About Breguet : Breguet, established since 1775, embodies watchmaking excellence and forms part of the European cultural heritage, brimming with history and emotions. Its creations have been owned by the world’s most prominent individuals. Breguet’s famed archives record every watch sold since 1787. The timepieces emerging from the Manufacture Breguet are works of art rendered unique by artisans’ hand, and endowed with genuine soul. From the start, Breguet has woven close ties with science and astronomy.  Breguet takes pride in offering exceptional models, such as the Marine équation Marchante 5887, a Grande Complication model that marks the start of a new era for the contemporary Marine collection. www.breguet.com

Breguet et Race for Water s’unissent pour la préservation des océans

La Maison Breguet est honorée d’annoncer qu’elle devient le partenaire principal de Race for Water, une fondation dédiée à la préservation de l’eau. Cette association a été dévoilée à travers une exposition dédiée en présence de Marc A. Hayek, Président de Breguet et de Marco Simeoni, Président et Fondateur de Race for Water, le samedi 24 mars 2018 à Baselworld. Breguet et Race for Water s’engagent ainsi dès aujourd’hui pour une odyssée qui s’étend jusqu’en 2021.

 

La Fondation Race for Water engagée pour la préservation des océans contre la pollution plastique, contribue à l’avancement des connaissances scientifiques, sensibilise le grand public et les décideurs, et agit concrètement avec la mise en œuvre de solutions locales aux impacts économiques, environnementaux et sociaux durables. Aujourd’hui, elle s’associe à Breguet pour sensibiliser le public à la préservation des océans, menacés par la pollution plastique. Un navire révolutionnaire partira pour un voyage autour du monde qui vise à promouvoir des solutions innovantes capables de transformer les déchets plastiques en ressources énergétiques, accélérant ainsi la transition écologique. Lors des trente-cinq étapes prévues au cours de l’odyssée, la Fondation Race for Water invitera scientifiques et décideurs à nouer le dialogue autour de la nécessité de préserver l’eau, la ressource la plus précieuse de l’humanité. La Maison Breguet soutiendra cette odyssée jusqu’à son terme, soit en l’an 2021.

« Nous sommes fiers et ravis de soutenir Race for Water. Ce projet suisse apporte une contribution inestimable à la recherche sous-marine à l’échelle internationale et prouve que des solutions concrètes existent pour préserver les océans du monde entier. », affirme Marc A. Hayek. « Au début du XIXème siècle, les montres étaient des instruments de navigation essentiels en mer. Nous poursuivons aujourd’hui cette tradition en soutenant un projet vital qui s’engage pour notre avenir. »

« Nous sommes fiers d’accueillir Breguet à bord de cette expédition unique. Cette odyssée vise à redonner espoir au monde, en montrant que des solutions existent pour lutter contre la pollution plastique. », explique Marco Simeoni. « L’éducation est clé et c’est pourquoi nous ciblons principalement les jeunes générations. Mais nous montrons également aux décideurs que nous rencontrons à chaque escale que l’innovation et de nouveaux modèles d’entreprises peuvent offrir des bénéfices économiques, écologiques et sociaux durables. En donnant de la valeur au déchet plastique nous arriverons à rentrer dans un cycle vertueux et à atteindre un résultat positif. De plus, nous nous déplaçons à bord d’un bateau fonctionnant à l’énergie renouvelable et à propulsion mixte solaire-hydrogène-kite. La preuve qu’un navire de 100 tonnes peut faire le tour du monde sans dépendre des énergies fossiles. La transition énergétique est déjà une réalité ! »

La Maison Breguet dédie d’ailleurs sa nouvelle exposition itinérante à ce partenariat. Présentée les 24 et 25 mars 2018 sur la Plaza du Swatch Group, elle partira ensuite en tournée mondiale avec comme objectif de sensibiliser le grand public.

Une série spéciale Race for Water voyagera au poignet des explorateurs de l’odyssée


Breguet a laissé une empreinte indélébile dans l’histoire en équipant les navires de chronomètres fiables capables de calculer la longitude en mer.

La collection Marine est l’héritière contemporaine de cette maîtrise exceptionnelle de la mesure du temps. Pour célébrer son partenariat avec Race for Water, Breguet a créé une édition spéciale de son modèle Marine 5517, mêlant un boîtier en titane avec un cadran bleu décoré de la silhouette du bateau Race for Water guilloché main selon le motif « clou de Paris ». Ce garde-temps fera partie de l’odyssée autour du globe puisque chaque membre de l’équipage se verra remettre un exemplaire, afin de les accompagner durant leurs différentes missions.

Le monde marin inspire la Maison Breguet depuis ses débuts et particulièrement depuis la nomination d’Abraham-Louis Breguet au titre officiel d’Horloger de la Marine royale en 1815. Cette distinction décernée par le roi est la plus prestigieuse de celle qu’un horloger pouvait recevoir et a donné naissance à d’extraordinaires inventions au service du monde fascinant de la navigation maritime. La collection Marine s’inspire de ce riche passé en le réinterprétant de manière contemporaine. Il en résulte des garde-temps conçus pour traverser les générations. Dans la continuité de son implication dans le monde marin, c’est tout naturellement que Breguet a souhaité s’associer à une initiative à l’avant-garde de la recherche scientifique moderne sur les océans.

À propos de Breguet : La Maison Breguet, fondée en 1775, incarne l’excellence horlogère et fait partie du patrimoine culturel européen, qui déborde d’histoire et d’émotions. Ses créations ont fait le bonheur des plus grandes figures de l’histoire. Dans les célèbres archives Breguet sont enregistrés tous les garde-temps vendus depuis 1787. Les créations Breguet sont des œuvres d’art uniques que l’on doit aux prouesses des maîtres horlogers d’aujourd’hui. Dès ses débuts, Breguet a tissé des liens étroits avec la science et l’astronomie. La Maison est fière de proposer des modèles d’exception à l’image de la Grande Complication Marine Équation Marchante 5887. www.breguet.com