ACT DOMINICAN REPUBLIC : Project under development in the DOMINGO SAVIO district, which is particularly affected by the plastic waste issue

Whilst the Foundation’s Ambassador vessel is on a technical stopover in Chile (Concepcíon), the shore teams are continuing the actions initiated during the stopover in the Dominican Republic in August 2017 and then a follow-up visit back in January to promote and implement sustainable technological solutions to combat plastic pollution! A solution put forward by the Foundation to transform plastic waste into energy using high-temperature pyrolysis, value is given to waste that was previously worthless, thus encouraging its collection. Such a technology will have lasting social, environmental and economic benefits.

“Let’s take action for Domingo Savio”

Since the stopover in August 2017, Marco Simeoni, President of the Foundation and Camille Rollin, head of the “Plastic Waste To Energy” project have made their second trip back to the Dominican Republic and are working closely with the Dominican NGO Heroes del Medio Ambiente, which has been working on the problem of waste management for the past 12 years.

Their common goal is to install technology enabling plastics to be converted into energy at the very heart of the DOMINGO SAVIO district, which is particularly affected by the plastic waste issue. Such a system would enable them to process the bulk of the non-recyclable plastics directly on site.

Camille Rollin: “Converting plastic waste into electricity using a medium-sized high-temperature pyrolysis unit geared around the volume of waste generated in the district, would create local jobs for the collection process, whilst educating the population about ways to preserve the environment. Reducing the challenges involved in the transport, logistics and the excessive number of intermediaries, by acting as closely as possible to the source of the waste, is also a guarantee of the efficiency offered up by this management model”.

First coordination meeting

Conscious that solutions must be implemented jointly, the Race for Water Foundation and Heroes del Medio Ambiente, came together on 21 June 2018 for a first meeting to coordinate the key protagonists of this project under development, protagonists who will make Domingo Savio an example in the management of its plastic waste.

In this way, the members of the Ministry of the Environment, the Town of Santo Domingo, the Mancomunidad of greater Santo Domingo, the CDEEE (Electricity distributor), URBE (presidential project to rehabilitate the Domingo Savio district), the Tropigas Foundation and representatives from the local community committed to giving their all to make this project a success.

Marco Simeoni: “It’s a matter of great urgency and we’re delighted to be able to count on the willingness of each and every one of the participants to respond to this local issue, which is a reflection of what has become a global challenge today”.

ACT REPUBLIQUE DOMINICAINE : Projet en cours de développement dans le quartier de DOMINGO SAVIO particulièrement impacté par la problématique des déchets plastiques

Alors que le bateau Ambassadeur de la Fondation est en escale technique au Chili (Concepcíon), les équipes de terre poursuivent les actions initiées lors du stop-over en République Dominicaine en août 2017, puis à leur visite de janvier dernier : promouvoir et implémenter des solutions technologiques durables afin de faire face à la pollution plastique ! Une solution proposée par la Fondation étant de transformer les déchets plastiques en énergie grâce à une pyrolyse à haute température, conférent de ce fait une valeur à des déchets qui n’en ont pas et incitant leur collecte. Une technologie qui aura des bénéfices sociaux, environnementaux et économiques durables.

« Agissons pour Domingo Savio »

Depuis l’escale d’août 2017, Marco Simeoni, Président de la Fondation et Camille Rollin, responsable du projet « Plastic Waste To Energy » en sont à leur deuxième passage en République Dominicaine et travaillent en collaboration étroite avec l’ONG dominicaine Héroes del Medio Ambiente qui œuvre depuis 12 ans à la problématique de la gestion des déchets.

Leur objectif commun est d’installer une technologie permettant de transformer les plastiques en énergie au cœur même du quartier de DOMINGO SAVIO particulièrement impacté par la problématique des déchets plastiques, ce qui permettrait de traiter une grande partie des pastiques directement sur place.

Camille Rollin : « Transformer les déchets plastiques en électricité grâce à une unité de pyrolyse à haute température de taille moyenne adaptée au volume de déchets générés dans le quartier, permettrait de créer des emplois locaux pour la collecte tout en éduquant la population à préserver l’environnement. Réduire les défis qu’impliquent le transport, la logistique, et les trop nombreux intermédiaires, en agissant au plus proche du gisement de déchet est également un gage d’efficacité proposé par ce modèle de gestion ».

Première réunion de coordination

Conscients que les solutions doivent être implémentées conjointement, la Fondation Race for Water et Heroes del Medio Ambiente, ont rassemblé le 21 juin 2018 pour une première réunion de coordination les acteurs clés de ce projet en cours de développement, acteurs qui permettront de faire de Domingo Savio un exemple dans la gestion de ses déchets plastiques.

Ainsi des membres du Ministère de l’Environnement, de la Municipalité de Saint Domingue, de la Mancomunidad du grand Saint Domingue, de la CDEEE (Distributeur d’électricité), d’URBE (projet présidentiel de réhabilitation du quartier de Domingo Savio), de la Fondation Tropigas et des représentants de la communauté locale se sont engagés à tout mettre en œuvre pour faire de ce projet un succès.

Marco Simeoni : « Il y a urgence et nous sommes heureux de pouvoir compter sur la volonté de chacun des participants de répondre à une problématique locale qui est le reflet d’un défi aujourd’hui mondial »