“The Race for Water vessel is how I want to see the future of marine technology, the future of marine research, and the future of humanity. “

 

Hans Peter Arp, scientist for one of the JPI Oceans study programm, entrusts to you his feeling about the Race for Water solar vessel.

“Imagine that you are standing on a large deck, completely covered with solar panels, and beyond that is only the sea and the sky. There was a moment in the deep blue waters off the coast of Cuba like this, when I contemplated this sight, feeling the gentle rise and fall of the oceans, at this interface where this technological achievement of man was easing over the surface of the ocean, leaving no damaging ecological trace. It left me with a sense of immense freedom. It was hard not to feel optimistic for the future of humanity. With boats like this in future, we can advance, explore, and experience the world, without causing harm.

 

That was just the top deck. The Race for Water crew have put an amazing amount of work and energy to making this vessel a scientific platform. Down below, the space is vast and bright, in fact much of it is yacht-level luxury. At the very roomy rear-deck is where we launched and deployed our sampling equipment. Though we did not yet need large equipment, there would be room enough to bring it in future. In addition, there was a spacious cabin that served as ‘wet laboratory’, having access to running water (fresh, using the solar powered desalination system on board), sinks, refrigeration, electricity (solar powered, of course!) and large tables to place all our laboratory equipment. It is a well-thought-out and pleasant research platform.

 

A huge highlight was the crew itself. The captain and crew went out of their way to help us get our samples, from driving that extra mile, to coming up with solutions to sudden problems that emerged, to giving us several excellent hands on deck. They often gave the impression that they were there exclusively to assist the scientists. There was an excellent level of attention paid to safety at all times, particularly during sampling.  Outside of the scientific work, the crew was full of humour and kindness. The food was great too! Being a predominantly French crew, the food they prepared was always a mix of locally bought ingredients and French haut cuisine. We had many pleasant evenings with the crew both on the boat and off.  Because the crew was so dedicated to the cause of understanding and minimizing the harm of plastics, it gave us a shared purpose and common ground. It is rare during scientific expeditions at sea to have a crew that is so in touch with our research needs, so enthusiastic, and so accommodating.

The platform was also an excellent opportunity to gain attention for our research, both locally where we were doing the research, and abroad. The Race for Water media team documented with high quality images, videos and interviews our sampling mission, and with the help of local contacts, ensured that our research was shared with the local community. Further, the attractiveness of being on the boat made several other researchers interested in the JPI Oceans WEATHER-MIC project. I have to admit that many of my colleagues are quite envious with my collaboration with Race for Water. In this way, Race for Water helped us raise awareness among the widest possible audience, from the public, to stake holders, to research funders.

The Race for Water vessel is how I want to see the future of marine technology, the future of marine research, and the future of humanity. It is initiatives like Race for Water, and their flagship vessel, that we need to address the ultimate and common aim of preserving our oceans, fragile as they are.” Hans Peter Arp

« Le navire Race for Water est ce que je souhaite voir apparaitre dans les technologies marines du futur, le futur de la recherche océanographique et le futur de l’humanité. »

 

Au travers de ce texte, Hans Peter Arp, scientifique au sein du projet JPI Oceans, confie son ressenti vis-à-vis de du navire Race for Water.

« Fermez les yeux et imaginez que vous êtes debout sur l’immense pont d’un navire, entièrement couvert de panneaux solaires. Autour de vous un soleil magnifique et la mer pour horizon. Alors conscient d’être à l’interface entre la prouesse technologique qui a abouti à la construction d’un tel navire et la beauté du monde qui m’entourait, je me balançais silencieusement au rythme serein de la houle marine. Ce navire, ne laissant aucune trace de pollution sur l’environnement qu’il parcourt me fit ressentir que je un sentiment de liberté infini, un espoir pour l’avenir de l’humanité. Voilà le sentiment que j’ai eu en navigant sur le bleu profond des eaux cubaines.  Avec des bateaux comme le Race for Water dans le futur, il est possible d’imaginer parcourir le monde, l’explorer et le comprendre sans causer de dégât.

 

Et ce n’était que le pont supérieur ! Dans le navire, les équipes de Race for Water ont travaillé pour en faire une magnifique plateforme scientifique, emplie de belles énergies. L’espace est vaste, lumineux et l’on se croirait presque dans un yacht de luxe pour travailler sur la pollution plastique des océans. Une salle a été dédiée à nos manipulations, nous permettant d’y déposer notre matériel ainsi que nos échantillons. Ce que nous appelons un laboratoire-humide nous est aussi mis à disposition, avec un accès direct et facilité à l’eau de mer afin de réaliser nos prélèvements en navigation et de manière sécurisée. Réfrigérateurs, climatisation, lumières, le tout alimenté par l’énergie solaire en font une plateforme scientifique très bien pensée et agréable.

 

Et puis il y a l’équipage… Le capitaine et les marins, tous disponibles pour nous aider à réaliser nos manipulations, prêt à adapter la route de navigation en fonction de nos observations et toujours enclins à trouver de nouvelles solutions. Une aide extraordinaire. En plus de leurs responsabilités liées à la navigation, j’avais l’impression d’avoir avec moi des assistants de recherche scientifique. Régnait à bord un excellent professionnalisme et une sécurité absolue. Mais il y a aussi tous ces moments d’échanges, autour de repas enjoués et pleins d’humour. Sans parler des petits plats fraichement cuisinés dont on ressent les origines françaises ou que l’on soit ! C’est rare de trouver une équipe aussi à l’écoute et intéressée par la recherche scientifique que nous menons. Ce sont des personnes réellement soucieuses de la préservation de l’environnement marin et engagées pour la cause de la pollution plastique des océans.

Pour terminer, le Race for Water est une excellente opportunité pour nous de communiquer sur nos recherches, faire connaître notre laboratoire et rencontrer d’autres scientifiques. L’équipe de communication produit du matériel de qualité que ce soit des photos, des vidéos ou encore des interviews de scientifiques afin d’expliquer nos protocoles. Et je dois avouer que plusieurs de mes collègues du projet JPI Oceans et intéressés par le programme de recherche Weather-Mic m’envient de cette collaboration avec la Fondation. Il y a un réel intérêt pour des projets futurs, cette plateforme nous permettant non seulement d’exécuter nos protocoles mais aussi de sensibiliser le grand public, les décideurs et les fonds dédiés à la recherche.

Le navire Race for Water est ce que je souhaite voir apparaitre dans les technologies marines du futur, le futur de la recherche océanographique et le futur de l’humanité. Dans le but ultime de préserver nos si fragiles océans ce sont des initiatives comme celles-là dont nous avons besoin. » Hans Peter Arp