Ten days in Bermuda: in words and pictures

 

It’s already been 10 days since the Race for Water crew stepped off the yacht and onto dry land in Bermuda, after more than a month at sea. We checked in with them to get their impressions of the stopover, which included tours of Race for Water, interviews, and watching the America’s Cup races.

Logistics and stopovers coordinator Luce Molinier and Director of Operations Franck David were already in Bermuda to greet Race for Water, and they organized a full schedule of activities for the crew. Luce commented, “The crew were really happy to get back on land; they were also very tired. They got into a rhythm on board, and they definitely bonded during this first crossing.”

Race for Water gleams in Bermuda’s turquoise waters

 

Race for Water had barely arrived in the harbor when Bermuda’s Prime Minister, Michael Dunkley, came on board to congratulate Race for Water Foundation President Marco Simeoni and the crew. Marco noted, “Next, we saw Anne Hyde, the president of the Keep Bermuda Beautiful Foundation. This wasn’t our first meeting; we met her during the first Race for Water Odyssey, in 2015. It’s really impressive to see the passion that Race for Water inspires in people!”

A great viewing deck for the America’s Cup

 

Race for Water dropped anchor in the Great Sound—the site of the America’s Cup races–, and Groupama Team France’s crews and guests came on board to watch the action while learning about plastics pollution and ocean preservation. Marco Simeoni commented, “The more people we welcome on board, the greater the impact of our message of hope—our mission to preserve the oceans and spread the word with our clean-energy yacht.”

The Bermuda stopover wasn’t only about sailing, tours, and meetings. At the end of the day, the crew still had to do maintenance tasks on board Race for Water, put the ship’s furniture back in place, and clean up. First Mate Annabelle Boudinot joked, “Our second shift starts in the evening. But we’re having the time of our lives in our front-row seats for the Cup matches.”

10 jours aux Bermudes en mots et en images

Déjà 10 jours que l’équipage du navire Race for Water a mis pied à terre après plus d’un mois de mer. Entre visites du navire, interviews, et suivi des courses de la Coupe de l’America, quelles sont les impressions ?

Luce Molinier et Franck David, aux Bermudes pour accueillir le Race for Water, ont organisé un large programme pour l’équipage ! « Les marins étaient très heureux d’arriver à terre et également très fatigués. A bord, ils avaient un rythme et cette première traversée les a énormément soudés », relate Luce.

Le navire Race for Water dans les eaux turquoise des Bermudes

 

A peine arrivés que Michael Dunkley, Premier Ministre des Bermudes est venu à bord féliciter Marco Simeoni et son équipage. « Ensuite nous avons revu Anne Hyde, présidente de la fondation Keep Bermuda Beautiful, que nous avions rencontrée lors de notre première Odyssée en 2015, explique Marco Simeoni, Président de la Fondation. C’est très impressionnant de voir l’engouement que suscite le navire Race for Water ! »

 

Une plateforme exceptionnelle pour suivre la Coupe de l’America

 

Au cœur du plan d’eau de la Coupe de l’America, le navire accueille les équipes et invités de Groupama Team France pour suivre les courses tout en sensibilisant les convives à la problématique de la pollution plastique et à celle de la préservation des océans. « Plus nous recevons de personnes à bord, plus notre message d’espoir pour sauver les océans et celui que porte notre navire propulsé aux énergies propres a d’impact. » se réjouit Marco Simeoni.

Mais les journées ne s’arrêtent pas à des navigations, des visites et des rencontres. En fin d’après-midi place à l’entretien du navire, la remise en configuration des meubles, les nettoyages. « Notre deuxième journée commence en soirée, plaisante Annabelle. Mais nous nous régalons d’assister en première loge aux matchs de la Coupe »